Now That’s One Way to Pose For a Portrait…

Now That's One Way to Pose For a Portrait...

A painting by Isaac Fuller of Sir William Petty, an English economist, c.1640-1651.  Here’s the caption:

“Petty is here shown holding a skull with a copy of Adriaan den Spiegel’s De Humani Corporis Fabrica (On the Fabric of the Human Body) of 1627, which is open at Plate 3.”

Source for photo and info: [National Portrait Gallery no.2924]

Image | This entry was posted in European History, Modern History, Museum Artefact and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Now That’s One Way to Pose For a Portrait…

  1. Now what’s that we were saying in the last couple of posts about how old portraits show us how we can relate to people in prior eras ….

    😉

    • Ha! And I think that’s why this painting stood out when I came across it this morning! It’s. Just. So. Unrelatable. 🙂

      • Oh, I don’t know. For most maybe. But, as I said when I tweeted this post, it rather looks like my driver’s license photo.

        Or maybe I only remember it that way, because the Bureau of Motor Vehicles had the stench of death about it. Where is my wallet anyway…?

      • Hehe…odd how death and long lines to pay taxes smell alike, huh?

        And I guess you’re right! Passed someone with a skull on their tshirt walking home today. Suddenly, I was reminded that maybe it’s not so out there.

Leave a Reply

