Historical Underwear, part I: This Looks…Uncomfortable

This Looks Painful

Imagine what this thing must have done to your ribs and internal organs when worn day after day!

A silk corset from 1891, made by Maison Léoty in France.

Source: [Metropolitan Museum of Art – No.C.I.45.27a, b]

Image | This entry was posted in Everyday Life, Historical Underwear, Modern History, Museum Artefact, Women's History and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Historical Underwear, part I: This Looks…Uncomfortable

  1. EH Kern says:

    The craft is beautiful but ouch! And the only way to put it on is to have a maid do it for you. Not for the masses… 😀

    • The silk fabric is gorgeous, isn’t it? Well, I guess this wouldn’t be the first time someone in history suffered for fashion, huh?

      • EH Kern says:

        And not the last time, either. Whenever I go into a shoe store and see some of the high heel shoes, I go what the…?! Can you even walk in those?!

      • Good comparison!! I always feel the same way when I see paintings and photos of the old cravats that men had to wear and the layers that women wore – you wonder how anyone was able to make it through the summer (in a pre-A/C world) without constantly passing out!

      • EH Kern says:

        That’s probably where the literary trope of fainting women comes from. 😀 Imagine the British and French women living in the Caribbean in the 19th century. The heat, the humidity and those gigantic dresses with several layers that are difficult to wash. The more I learn about history the happier I am to live in the 21st century.

      • I feel the exact same way! The longer I study history the more I’m grateful for modern living and its conveniences! 🙂

Leave a Reply

