Medieval Medical Text Proves Drawing Babies Is Tougher Than You Think

Medieval Medical Text

From an early-1400s medical text made in England: an illustration showing the different types of foetal presentations during birth.

Kind of hilarious to see that the artist didn’t really know how to draw babies.  It sort of looks like the artist just drew really tiny adults instead.

If you are interested (Of course you are!  History kicks ass!), there are a few more illustrations here: Sloane 2463 Manuscript – British Library

Source: [British Library – Sloane 2463 f. 217]

Image | This entry was posted in Cool Document, European History, Everyday Life, Family Life, Medieval History, Women's History and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Medieval Medical Text Proves Drawing Babies Is Tougher Than You Think

  1. Terrifyingly un-cute! Not to mention he looks like he’s doing “The Robot”. LOL.

  2. Jessica says:

    Brilliant illustrations! My personal favourites are the pictures you sometimes find of supposed medical anomalies, like that pamphlet about a baby born to a Royalist mother who declared she’d rather her baby have no head than be a Roundhead, accompanied by a picture of a headless man-baby with a face on his chest.

    • Yes!! The medical anomaly woodcuts are quite neat, huh? Although, I’ve never seen one of the Kirkham baby you just described! I’ve only ever heard the story in passing. I’d love to see it! 🙂

      • Jessica says:

        I got to study it for a “Body and Society” class when I was doing my Master’s. I think I saw it on a trip to the archives, but I can’t remember the exact source. I kind of doubt it was an original pamphlet, but it does seem like the kind of thing Culpeper might have thrown into one of his medical books. Politics + anomaly!

      • I’m so jealous! That class sounds great!

Leave a Reply

