Eisenhower’s Adorable Response To His 4-Year Old Niece’s ‘Letter’, 1943

397933_10152775794955055_1233909222_n

Eisenhower’s 4-year old niece Ruth (daughter of his brother Milton) sent him the letter of lines and waves below, which was addressed to “Uncle Ike” and signed “Ruthie”.

164897_10152775794935055_578525619_n-1

537937_10152775795070055_127579284_n-1

Eisenhower’s adorable response was:

“Dear Ruthie,

I enjoyed your letter. I know exactly what you said. I am astonished that you have made such progress since last I saw you. Since I cannot write as well as you do, I will have to have this done on the typewriter so your Mother may have to read it to you.

I know that by the time I come home that beautiful blue velvet dress that you got a year ago for Christmas, will be far too small; but please keep it because I think that is the best looking dress I ever seen in my life and I want to see it again.”

What makes this letter more poignant is the fact that Eisenhower would have been at war in 1943 as Lieutenant General. If this was written in April, the future U.S. president would have been finishing his North African campaign, about to head over to fight in Sicily.

Source: [Eisenhower Presidential Library and Museum Facebook Page]

This entry was posted in 20th Century, Cool Document, European History, Family Life, Modern History, U.S. History, World War Two and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Eisenhower’s Adorable Response To His 4-Year Old Niece’s ‘Letter’, 1943

  1. A.K. says:

    This made me laugh, which I needed to do today. Thanks.

  2. Lasseter says:

    I agree completely with your commentary. It has always been a soft spot with me to see sensitive expression among men who make their way in violent or aggressive professions, if the expression comes across as sincere. It does so here.

    • Well stated. I’ve always been fascinated by this president in particular, considering the fact that he was a five-star general in WWII (including seeing first-hand the atrocities of German concentration camps during liberation) and leader of the United States during the time of the Little Rock crisis. I always wondered how he was able to live a normal life after all the awful things he must have seen.

Leave a Reply

