“This is no laughing matter to me or any other fan of the Beatles”

This is a letter written on 3 April 1964 from 15-year old Janelle Blackwell to the U.S. Department of Labour.  She is worried about media reports that the Beatles would not be allowed entry into the United States.

It’s a cute letter illustrating Beatlemania!

07275_2002_002_A

Here’s the historical context from the National Archives website:

“In 1964, the Department of Labor, in an effort to protect American jobs, instituted restrictions to make it harder for foreign musicians to enter the country. The press reported that these new requirements would prevent the Beatles from performing in the U.S. Hundreds of distraught teenagers deluged President Johnson and Secretary of Labor Willard Wirtz with letters and petitions like this one.”

The handwriting is pretty legible on this letter – read through it and tell me what your favourite part is!

Source: [National Archives: no.596104] and [DocsTeach]

This entry was posted in 20th Century, Cool Document, Family Life, Modern History, Pop Culture History, U.S. History and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to “This is no laughing matter to me or any other fan of the Beatles”

  1. Lasseter says:

    This letter I know is not in good form of any kind. But I feel terrible.

    🙂 I think Miss Blackwell was too hard on herself. Her letter is better than any correspondence I’ve ever written. Her form is superb.

    I’m 15 and I feel like 80.

    Yeah. A fifteen-year-old with the wisdom and eloquence of a venerable eighty-year-old maybe!

    The whole letter is brilliant. I want to track this woman down and hire her to ghostwrite my memoirs.

    • I know, right? It’s not often today that we’re forced to write a letter by hand that is that long! I think I could do it, but only if I had some liquid paper nearby. 🙂

      She seems like a woman who is very good at convincing people. I’d love to read something she wrote as an older adult – I’m sure it would be good!

  2. Gypsy Bev says:

    My favorite part was “I’m 15 and feel like 80”. They dream up too many laws

  3. Pingback: Another Cute Teenage Fan Letter, This Time About Elvis | History Kicks Ass!

Leave a Reply

