Ever Wondered What Historical Figures Would Look Like With a Modern Makeover?

Ever Wondered What Historical Figures Would Look Like With a Modern Makeover?

These were made to help advertise the Yesterday channel’s new program “Secret Life Of” and were made with the help of digital artists and historian Suzannah Lipscomb.

Shakespeare (seen above), Elizabeth I, Marie-Antoinette, Henry VIII, and Admiral Nelson all get some pretty cool modern makeovers.

Although, I think I’m a little creeped out by the two Elizabeth I makeovers!

To see all of them, here’s the slideshow: Historical Hipsters from the Independent UK

[Source]

Image | This entry was posted in Current Events, European History, Kings and Queens, Medieval History, Then and Now and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Ever Wondered What Historical Figures Would Look Like With a Modern Makeover?

  1. itwasjudith says:

    nice idea, thanks for sharing 🙂 I quite like the first interpretation of Elizabeth I, not sure about the second one though… Henry VIII looks a bit like some modern film star?

    • It was the second version that creeped me out too! And I thought that Henry VIII’s new makeover looked a lot like Russell Crowe – but then that would make Henry VIII a Roman gladiator and it would be too confusing!

      • itwasjudith says:

        Russell Crowe, you’re right!! …and I don’t think Henry had that much sympathy for things Roman (i.e. the pope…), although I understand that he maintained to be a catholic (albeit an English Church one) rather than a protestant. Not that this really matter…

  2. Jessica says:

    These cracked me up, especially hipster Shakespeare, but I think someone at the Independent needs to do more research. Henry VIII is generally agreed to have been around 6’2″, so I’m not sure why he would have needed Cuban heels for his “diminutive height!” [Sigh]

    • Good catch! And I’ve seen suits of his armour – apart from being ‘wide’ – they are also quite tall compared to other suits of armour from his time period. Now I’m going to have to watch the episode that he’s in just to make sure there aren’t any more mistakes. Argh! 😉

      • Jessica says:

        I always wonder where to draw the line with historical accuracy in things like this; I mean, the whole concept of these portraits is basically an exercise in anachronism, but the height thing was a pretty glaring error. I also question their assertion that Elizabeth I would have had her teeth replaced, because surely, if she was living in modern times, someone of her social standing wouldn’t have had rotten teeth in the first place (nor would Henry VIII have been morbidly obese, for that matter). But I think now I’m probably just being too anal about it. I have a conflicted relationship with popular history. 🙂

      • I know exactly what you mean! For example, historical movies are awesome, but it KILLS me when they make mistakes for the sake of making the plot work in modern times. For me, it’s like watching a horror movie: I have to watch with my hands over my eyes most of the time! 🙂 But then I remember that popular history is what attracts most people to the discipline (who might not otherwise have studied history save for their national history in high school) and I have to force myself to chill out. For me, it’s like the relationship between Harry Potter and Twilight and literature. They are books written for children and teenagers, yet have found a huge fan base amongst adults who consider them literature. At first instinct, I want to get mad and then I just chill out and be happy that people are reading 7-volume and 4-volume stories who may not have otherwise wanted to pick up Don Quixote or Wuthering Heights. Perhaps it says more about historians than movies: why do so many people want to watch these movies (which have obvious mistakes) than the documentaries and books we produce?

  3. Rajiv says:

    I like your blog. History is a great subject, and I like what you put on to this site

  4. Mara says:

    Ha Ha .. those are great! Thanks for liking my Bolg too …

  5. Hey fellow history lover. Thanks for the like! Much love and light to you and have a blessed day! Queen Of Hearts

  6. Oh dear. Why can’t they just leave them alone?

  7. Thanks for liking my post and I love the modern make over..made me laugh a lot! LOL..love the idea though. It is great to connect with another history nut! Much love and light to you and have a blessed day! Queen Of Hearts

  8. I’m glad you got a nice chuckle out of them!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

